🇬🇧    English    |   🇵🇸    عربي

Occupied territory

Share This
« Back to Glossary Index

The lands that Israel controls as a consequence of its 1967 "pre-emptive” war. These include lands acquired by force and where Israel maintains effective control through the Military Government of Israel. These remain: the West Bank, including Jerusalem and the Gaza Strip in Palestine; and the Syrian Golan. Subsequent acquisition of lands in southern Lebanon through gradual conquest in the 1970s and through its 1982 invasion there has been reduced through Israel’s July 2000 withdrawal. However, the territory of Shiba` Farms and Ghajar village land remains under Israeli military occupation, which neighboring states affirm is Lebanese sovereign territory.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related Posts